Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 2011, the shortlist

Now in its 15th year, The Photographers’ Gallery’s annual prize of £30,000 rewards a living photographer, of any nationality, who has made the most significant contribution to photography in Europe, between 1 October 2009 and 30 September 2010.

The four shorlisted photographers are Thomas Demand, Roe Ethridge, Jim Goldberg, and Elad Lassry.

Roe Ethridge (b.1969, USA) is nominated for his solo exhibition at Les Recontres d’Arles Photography 2010, France (3 July – 19 September 2010).

Thomas Demand (b.1964, Germany) is nominated for his exhibition, Nationalgalerie, at Neue Nationalgalerie, Berlin (18 September 2009 – 17 January 2010).

Jim Goldberg (b.1953, USA) is nominated for his exhibition Open See at The Photographers’ Gallery, London (16 October 2009 – 31 January 2010).

Elad Lassry (b.1977, Israel) is nominated for his exhibition Elad Lassry at Kunsthalle Zürich (13 February – 25 April 2010).

This year’s Jury is: Alex Farquharson (Director, Nottingham Contemporary); Marloes Krijnen (Founding Director, Foam_Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam); Joel Sternfeld (artist, USA); and Anne-Marie Beckmann (Curator, Deutsche Börse Art Collection, Germany). Brett Rogers, Director of The Photographers’ Gallery, is the non-voting Chair.

Venue: Ambika P3 at the University of Westminster, 35 Marylebone Road, NW1 5LS.

The photograph: Roe Ethridge, Gloucester Old Spot, 2005

No comments: