Friday, June 24, 2011

Alec Soth's BROKEN MANUAL wins Photobook Festival Award

The Kassel International Photobook Festival presented the best photobooks of the year, works that were nominated by 35 international experts from the photo scene around the globe. All nominated books were presented in a catalogue and exhibited during the festival.

The 2011 Festival Audience Vote for the best book of the International Photobook Award was given to Alec Soth's »Broken Manual«. Which I'm pleased to say was my nomination.

I said this about Broken Manual, Looking like something you might find in your father's workshop under a pile of old Popular Mechanics, Alec Soth's Broken Manual is ostensibly about escape and transformation. This many layered book deals with options and possibilities, chance and circumstance. What is going on here and why? This is a photobook for our times, where particularly right now in America so many things appear to be broken. But not Broken Manual. This photobook is about as close to perfect as you can get.

Here is a short list of other jury members and their nominated best books for 2011:

Robert Adams: Mark Steinmetz »The Ancient Tigers of my Neighborhood«
Gerry Badger: Doug Rickard »A New American Picture«
Quentin Bajac: Michael Wolf »Tokyo Compression«
Marcelo Brodsky: Joao Ripper, Sergio Carvalho »Retrato Escravo«
Bruno Ceschel: Jason Fulford »The Mushroom Collector«
Jörg Colberg: Johan van der Keuken »Quatorze Juillet«
Diane Dufour: Edmund Clark »Quantanamo: if the light goes out«
Valérie Fougeirol: Rob Hornstra, Arnold van Bruggen »Empty Land, Promised Land, Forbidden Land«
David Goldblatt: Jo Ractliffe »As Terras do Fim do Mundo«
John Gossage: Lewis Baltz »Works«
Guido Guidi: John Gossage »The 32" ruler / Map of Babylon«
Jeffrey Ladd: John Baldessari »Parse«
Daido Moriyama: Osamu Wataya »Juvenile«
Martin Parr: Michael Wolf »Tokyo Compression«
Chris Pichler: Jim Goldberg »Rich and Poor - 25th Anniversary Edition«
Andrew Roth: Atilla Richard Lukacs »Polaroids«
Markus Schaden: Nazraeli Press »Six by Six (6x6)«
Ingo Taubhorn: Helena Schätzle »Die Zeit dazwischen«
Jürgen Teller: Boris Mikhailov »Maquette Braunschweig«
Ivan Vartanian: Toshiteru Yamaji »Buta To Occhan«
Laurence Vecten: Garry Trinh »Just heaps surprised to be alive«

The nominated books were presented in a superbly designed hard covered book, with a double page spread devoted to each nomination.

More here:
and here:

No comments: